Being arrested for reckless driving is a serious offense in the state of Georgia. This type of driving has been known to be the cause of serious traffic accidents from which motorists, passengers, and others can sustain life-threatening injuries or death. Because of its need to protect the lives of everyone sharing the roadways as well as pedestrians and innocent bystanders, Georgia, like other states, has established laws concerning reckless driving.
The offense of reckless driving is covered under Section 40-6-390 of Georgia Code which states the following:
- “Any person who drives any vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property commits the offense of reckless driving.”
- “Every person convicted of reckless driving shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.”
Reckless driving carries penalties of jail time of up to 12 months, a fine of up to $1,000, or both. The offense will also result in four points added to your driving record. These points can add up to a license suspension if you accumulate 15 or more points within a two-year timeframe. However, if you are under 21 years of age, you can lose your license in a suspension with just these four points alone.
What Kind of Behaviors Could Lead to a Reckless Driving Charge?
A variety of driving behaviors could be labeled reckless when they disregard the safety of others. These can include:
- Weaving in and out of traffic lanes
- Aggressively tailgating
- Running red lights, stop signs, or other signals or signs
- Engaging in street races
- Passing on the shoulder
- Driving while distracted, such as through texting, talking on a cell phone, reading maps, grooming, drinking, eating, handling pets or children, etc.
- Driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs no matter what your blood alcohol concentration may be
- Failure to give the required right of way
- Disobeying other traffic laws
Another Dangerous Driving Behavior – Aggressive Driving
Another dangerous driving behavior for which you can be charged in Georgia is aggressive driving. This occurs when you drive in a way that is considered aggressive; aggressive in this context means that its intent is to harass, annoy, intimidate, injure, molest, or obstruct others. This can also be done through overtaking and passing someone, through dangerous lane changes, tailgating, failing to signal, or even driving too slowly. This offense is defined under Section 40-6-397 of the Georgia Code and is charged as a high and aggravated misdemeanor. It carries penalties of up to 12 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
Facing a Traffic or Other Criminal Charge in Gwinnett County?
Any type of criminal charge can lead to a dramatic impact on your wallet, your freedom, and your reputation. It could impact your job as well as your ability to gain future employment. Fighting back with respected and skilled legal representation is your best answer to such charges. At Daniels & Taylor, P.C., we have built a reputation for capable and committed legal representation. Let us use our decades of experience to protect your rights as we pursue the best possible outcome for your case.
Contact a criminal defense lawyer at our Lawrenceville office at (770) 285-1673 or online for a free consultation today.